“Vacation is really over”

After two weeks of ‘no camps and ‘no school’ (thus the reason for ‘no blog posts’), my kids finally started the new school year yesterday.  We have one major change in the household this school year–my middle son has moved on to the high school which means I have gone from juggling the start time of 3 different schools to 2 different schools.  I know this doesn’t seem like that big of a deal, but it is–I smile just thinking about it.  But, not everyone is happy with the new schedule.

This morning, my youngest was enjoying the left over pastries from yesterday’s “Back to School/Birthday Celebration Breakfast” (yes, my youngest has the great fortune of sharing his birthday with the first day of school) when he turned to me and said, “I guess vacation is really over.  Now I eat breakfast alone.”  His sad little face reminded me that not every ‘new beginning’ is filled with excitement and joy–sometimes a new beginning means leaving something we really loved behind.  And, for Jack, that something was having a brief opportunity to share a bowl of  cereal or a bagel with his big brother every school morning.

I can already tell this school year is going to be an emotional challenge and yes, Jack, “vacation is really over.”

But, let’s think about next year’s summer of fun, shall we (I hate ending a post on a sad note)?  This past summer I had great fun working with the amazing team of Banner Day Camp.  If you are unfamiliar with the camp, it is a little piece of kid-fun located in Lake Forest, IL–giving kids the opportunity to pack a whole lot of adventure into one summer.  While the camp ended its 2012 season weeks ago, they are still busy at the campsite gearing up for a great fundraising event being held on Sunday, August 26th.  The Amazing Raise 4 Campers is an opportunity for you and your family to have a fun day at Banner Day Camp–enjoying all that they have to offer (think swimming, bungee trampolines, zip line & food)–while supporting a great cause.  Proceeds from this event will go to the Bradley Schwartz Campership Fund, an organization that helps send children in need to nonprofit overnight camps. Tickets are still available and can be purchased by calling 847-295-4900.  Tickets will also be available at the door.

For additional information, checkout the invite below or CLICK HERE

And while you are looking to have fun during the last weekend of summer, checkout some of my blog friends who spent a summer morning with me enjoying Banner Day Camp with our kids.  They have great stories and information for moms of Chicago!

Tiaras & Tantrums

Toddling Around Chicagoland

Sassy Irish Lassie

Leave a Reply

